It Begins – The Submissions Calendar

Keeping track of everything that’s going on in literature is difficult. In fact, I’d say it’s impossible. It’s hard enough keeping track of what magazine is open for submissions and when, not to mention the various prizes some of them offer, and then there’s also publishers dishing our reading periods every so often. Oh, and open mics, workshops, and general poetry and prose events. There’s a ton of stuff going on, but there’s no real centre stage for all this action. Want to know if GRANTA are accepting submissions? You’ll have to go to their site. What about AMBIT? Go to their site.

A couple of months ago I decided I wanted to try and put all these things together. I was trying to pull it together just for myself. I made Twitter and Facebook lists, but Facebook is awful these days and literature folks love sharing stuff other than submission deadlines on Twitter…

Anyway, you can find the beginning of the fruits of my labour at the link above – under ‘Submissions Calendar‘. I’ll be updating it semi-regularly (a guys got to write, after all), and if there’s anything missing or anything you think needs correcting, then get in touch with me.

Leave a Reply

