Review: Trafika Europe, ‘Polish Nocturne’

My review of Trafika Europe‘s Polish issue, Polish Nocturne is now live on Sabotage Reviews.

What’s not clear from the review is how I intended to concentrate purely on the poetry in the volume, but after starting to read the opening piece by Wiesław Myśliwski, ‘A Treatise on Shelling Beans’ I couldn’t hold back. I had to read the other stories! I really enjoyed the simple rhythm of Myśliwski’s writing, and the translation was very good. Such wonderful pacing in that excerpt.

The publications are also worth looking at from an online publishing standpoint – the reader UI is a fantastic piece of work. Certainly the best way of experiencing a book online that I’ve seen – other than downloading it as a PDF and bunging it on a handheld, or Kindle. I’m not sure how good it is on handhelds though, as I read most of Polish Nocturne on my desktop. I never read on my desktop. That’s how pleasant it is!

You can read the full review at this link.

Leave a Reply

