THE GRIND released, and I’m in it.

Yeaaaaahhhhhhhhhh!

Screenshot 2014-09-01 at 22

I’ve been waiting for this day to come. I love GRIND journal, fell for it a number of months back when I stumbled across some folks chatting about it on Twitter. I hadn’t heard of it, and the name initially confused me. They were talking about poems and stories – but GRIND? The title made me think of an underground saucy magazine. I downloaded the most recent issue and got reading. It was an underground saucy magazine – just not the sexy kind – full to the brim of wildly explosive prose, poems, photography and illustration from Scottish artists.

It was really pushing the boundaries in places, moreso than a lot of the better known contemporary journals and magazines you find in print today. Undoubtedly, the online nature of the journal helps in this regard – high quality images keep their quality, and you don’t have to worry about print margins, paper quality… etc. Nevertheless, GRIND is really going for it – a lot of other online journals and magazines don’t play around much, they’re just print taken to the screen. GRIND plays, yeah, GRIND plays.

Anyway, it’s out and I’m in it. A load of other awesome people are in it. There are amazing stories, poems, illustrations, art pieces in it. So read it and tell me what you think, eh?

Link to the PDF is here. Let me know if you have any problems.

Leave a Reply

