Solstice (Poem)

Draft, as always 🙂 Oh, and don’t forget to vote for me (deadline is tomorrow!).

IMG_9320

Solstice

I feel the quiet
beneath my feet.

The clouds above me
laze in a series of shapes
that appear relaxed,
laid-back and steady
with the rhythm of my feet.

Heat rises in whispers
of blurred yellow
from fields of bronze;
the crisp corn creaks
in the dry earth, and,
as crop gives way
to canopy I see ahead
leftover shards of timber,
the smooth trunks
simmering.

The ground curls
with the crunch of dead leaves
and as I pause for water,
sitting on a trunk,
I watch the rabbits
poke about the pines.

___________________
© Hayden Westfield-Bell
[23/06/2013]

2 thoughts on “Solstice (Poem)”

  1. I like the impression it’s beginning to give: quiet beneath your feet and the heat rising in whispers. More like this…?

    1. Yeah – I love the delicacy – I’m trying to bring more of that out in words, but I’m finding it difficult at the moment. I think I’m going through a kind of writers block at the moment, nothing’s coming out right!

Leave a Reply

