Not Enough Time!

Hello!

Just wanted to say that things may be slow for a while, its the start of a new term and one of the tutors on one of my modules has drawn up an extensive reading list, and by extensive I mean extensive. Example (reading for week one):

Atwood, Margaret. Negotiating with the Dead, Virago Press, 2003.
Pressfield, Steven. The War of Art, Warner 2003
Orwell, George ‘Why I Write’  http://www.orwell.ru/library/essays/wiw/english/e_wiw
Barthes, Roland, ‘The Death of the Author’ http://www.ubu.com/aspen/aspen5and6
WK Wimsatt and Monroe C. Beardsley, ‘The Intentional Fallacy’ faculty.smu.edu/nschwart/seminar/Fallacy.htm
James, Henry. ‘The Art of Fiction’ http://guweb2.gonzaga.edu/faculty
Said, Edward.  Beginnings: Intention and Method.  Columbia University Press, 2004.
Stein, Gertrude. How To Write. New York: Dover, 1975
Eagleton, Terry.  The English Novel: An Introduction.  Blackwell, 2005.
Calvino, Italo.  The Literature Machine.  Vintage, 1997.
Cuddon, J.A. A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory. Blackwell, 1991.
Mullan, John. How Novels Work. Oxford University Press, 2007
O’Faolain, Sean. The Short Story. Dublin: Mercier Press, 1948/72
Allott, Miriam. Novelists on the Novel, Routledge, 1959. Columbia, 1962
Conrad, Peter. Cassell’s History of English Literature, Orion, new edn. 2006.
Braine, John. Writing a Novel (Methuen, 1974)
Ellmann, Richard and Feidelson, Charles. The Modern Tradition, 1965
Lodge, David. The Art of Fiction, 1992 and The Practice of Writing, 1996, both Penguin
Bennett, Andrew. The Author. New Critical Idiom. Routledge,  2005.
Pope, Rob. Creativity. New Critical Idiom. Routledge,  2004
McKeon, Michael. Theory of the Novel: A Historical Approach. Johns Hopkins U. Press
Watt, Ian. The Rise of the Novel: Studies in Defoe, Richardson & Fielding. Penguin, 1963
Dooley, Maura, editor. How Novelists Work. Seren, 2000
Now, he did say that we didn’t have to read all of these texts – only a few – but the list alone is pretty scary. I’ve already fallen behind on the work he wants us to do (or perhaps I just feel like I’ve fallen behind), and so I’m working extra hard to keep things afloat.

Anyway, quick news:

I will be attending the “Critical Perspectives on Animals in Society” Postgraduate Conference in March, in Exeter (and it’s costing me a bomb) and I hope to meet/get involved with some activist/academics there concerning animal rights and welfare, which is something I’ve never really dabbled in, but that I’d like to look into. I’m finding myself drawn towards philosophies concerning identity and the nature of being with a sort of semi-linguistical/hermeneutic spin (as you do).

Also, after last weeks SOPA shenanigans I’ve been informed about something called ACTA from a good friend of mine. I haven’t had much time to read into it extensively, but I worked my way through the wikipedia article and a couple of interesting Youtube video’s and it looks pretty scary. I was also given this link which, upon reading, I found somewhat biased but also quite enlightening – lots of emotional terms in that article…

There are going to be an increasing number of these silly little posts, less book reviews, and perhaps more poetry (yay!) because I seem to be struggling to fit everything in!

Before Christmas I finished an album with an experimental friend of mine, and we are working on copyrighting it (and all that mumbo-jumbo), he’s been working on a little website which you can find here. Also, a shout out for this film: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mLDQL23nutw it’s called Tarnation, and I watched it a year ago (after a few struggled starts). It’s made from over 20 years of footage; VHS, Super 8, photos, tape recordings to tell the story of Jonathan Caoulette and his family’s history (focussing primarily on him, and his mother who was treated with electroshock at a young age which resulted in insanity). The film cost just over $200 dollars to make, and went on to win Best Documentary (National Society of Film Critics, Independent Spirits, Gotham Awards, LA and London Film Festivals.

Wish me luck with my (extensive) work!

Leave a Reply

